Let me start by saying, that I have not been slack with updating this blog because of lack of wonderful things to talk about.. quite the opposite infact. I've just been TOO damn busy having amazing , AMAZING adventures. So please excuse me my dear readers ( bahaha! thanks ma and pa!)
Now, thank god I take after my dear dad and keep a diary, or else there's no way I´d be able to remember all these incredible experiences. And they are WELL worth remembering. So..here goes...Beginning with Paris...ahhhh
I have my first experience of the atypical ´smooth´french man, when i first arrive in Pareee and am waiting for Boxy. After stopping myself from squealing everytime i remember, I'm actually IN FRANCE, I use my schoolgirl french to clumsily order a cappucino.
The waiter is an old french dude, who is just a regular old dude till he opens his mouth and ... that accent!! And then, he cups my face in his hand and says in stilted english..'Perfect, simply perfect!' SWOOOOON!!
I soon snap out of it however when i see my dear old friend Boxy, who is less inclined to shower me with cliches and more inclined to tell me to ´ fuck off ´ ( in a totally loving, brotherly way!)
That night I´m highly amused ( and secretly impressed) to see just how much Boxy has embraced and flourished in this foreign , foodie culture. He insists on taking me , 2 canadian girls and an irish couple, who he´d befriended earlier, to an amazing Moroccon (?? go figure) restaurant he´d discovered.
It was fantastic- huge vego meals, delicious french wine and literally to die for,death by chocolate cake to share.... mmmmm. Back to the hostel with cheap French cask wine in hand and in true hostel style, we proceeded to get pissed and laugh together till the sun came up.
The next day we sipped coffee at a verrryyy Parisin little sidewalk cafe, ate tomato and mozarella salad ( my favourite) and went on a bit of a sight see.
The overly confident 'irish' as they were now labelled got us a bit lost, but on the way i was suitably blown away by the Arc de Triumph ( oh god,please excuse that dodgy spelling?!) and the spectacular Eiffel tower( it really is like the pictures, and there it was, RIGHT THERE!!)
We finally made it to the Musee d´Orsay which was quite amazing and then back to the hostel...
I wont bore you by detailing EVERY meal, but this next one will go down in history...
Again, a little gem that Boxy insisted on showing me. We took the Canadian girls too and all I can say is wow...
It was soOOO french. The waitress was divine, we all fell in love with her( so sexy parisian!) and the food was rich and decadant and amazing!!!) as was the wine , AND the dessert. Oh god...
When we finally rolled out on to the pavement , it had begun to rain and it was perfect. Boxy led us up a steep cobble stone alleyway by streetlight until we reached the top of the hill. And wow.. in one direction was the spectacular Sacre Couer church ( who's lights switched off just as we got there--magic!) and on the other side, an incredible birds' eye view of Paris at night, with the lit up Eiffel Tower front and centre. We drank some more cheap wine, drank in the view and shivered with the magic of it all. The next day we visited the same view in daylight and you could barely move it was so crowded, but that night, we had it nearly COMPLETELY to ourselves...a real night to remember!
The next day we met up with the third member of our little parisian possey..Boomer!
It was so good to see him, especially after all of our friends back home had pitched in to get him back over here...the best!
That arvo we relocated to the hotel near the festival . Boxy and I didnt have a ticket for that night to the festival and we were honestly pretty relieved. A yummy japanese dinner( sooo multicultural!) and then after 3 nights of 5am drinking sessions, we were exhausted and hit the sack. ( not before boxy was sure to call Brad and tease him with the fact that he was 'sleeping' with his mrs! boys will be boys ; ) )
The next morning brought perfect blue skies and brilliant sunshine, and we were refreshed and ready to rock!
We banged down Boomers hotel room door and started the drinking, then trekked off to get some french festival on!
And woweee, its a big call, but this was perhaps one of THE BEST festivals Ive ever been to. Maybe it was the fact that it was IN PARIS,maybe it was the special company, maybe it was the rather lovely 'erbal capsules we were given, or maybe it was the tunes, but god it was GOOD!
Queens of the Stone Age were out of this world. Ive never seen the boys ( or me for that matter) rock out or laugh harder...fantastic! Two door cinema club were also great as were 2 many djs( what a show!)
Boxy and I were not meant to have tickets for the Sunday either, but Boomer and his lovely London mates were adamant we were coming anyway. After an elaborate entering, then squeezing off of wristbands, then re- entering after learning our friend´s personal details incase asked, we were in!
I cant remeber alot of the earlier stuff because the ABSOLUTE higlight was the last act. Arcade Fire. It hadn't rained the whole festival, then just as they were finishing up, it started to pour. And i mean bucket down! They stopped playing for a while because of electrical risk but then decided to do one last number anyway! feck it! So , it was pouring, we were soaked to the core, but yelling and laughing and dripping and hugging. I will never forget it.Ridiculous amounts of fun.
Then we were starving.. we ate delecious burrito things, then Boxy insisted on gettting churros( spanish donuts), with his very own jar of nutella ( which i may or may not have eaten straight out of the jar with my finger!)
Then it was over.. I squeezed Boxy goodbye early the next morning, on his way to Canada and Booma and i checked back into the other hostel, closer to town. I believe Boomer's direct quote was, ' Luce, I dont think I´ve ever felt this hungover...arrghhh´
We slept for the day, then met up the following morning to discuss a plan that we'd hatched when drunk on the music....' How bout we both go to Morocco together? '
In the harsh , squinty daylight, it still seemed like a brilliant idea, so we put the wheels in motion.
Then Booma headed off to Spain and I to Portugal! Ah the life of a traveller eh? I think i was made for this....love it!
So for the next very belated edition stay posted! Won´t be long this time...until then... Au revoir mon amis xoxooxo
No comments:
Post a Comment